Health and Science


We are delighted to be at the forefront of technical education, selected as the delivery partner for the Health T Level, Healthcare Science T Level, and Science T Level which will be rolled out from September 2021. The contract was awarded to us by the Institute for Apprenticeships and Technical Education (IfATE) in September 2019.

What is a T Level?

T Levels represent a significant change in technical education as they will become one of the main choices for post-16 learners. They will be the high-quality technical equivalent to A Levels, combining classroom theory, practical learning and a significant industry placement and will be awarded UCAS tariff points in line with 3 A Levels.

Health and Science T Levels

NCFE has been awarded the contract to develop the technical qualifications for the following 3 T Levels:

  • Health
  • Healthcare Science
  • Science

These Level 3 technical qualifications will provide learners with the knowledge, skills and behaviours needed to progress into skilled employment or higher level technical training or study in the Health and Science sector. The core knowledge and understanding will be assessed through an examination and core skills through a practical employer-set project. In addition to this, maths, English and general digital skills will be integrated within the qualification in occupationally relevant contexts.

What does the core content entail?

The core content for the 3 T Levels will cover the following areas:

  • Working within the Health and Science sector
  • Health
  • Safety and Environmental regulations in the Health and Science sector
  • Managing information and data within the Health and Science sector
  • Good Scientific and Clinical Practice
  • Core Science concepts

The breadth of content will ensure learners can apply their skills for different purposes and in different roles.

What are the Occupational Specialisms?

The specialisms for the Healthcare T Level are:

  • Optical Care Services
  • Pharmacy Services
  • Assisting with Healthcare Science
  • Dental Technical Services
  • Prosthetic and Orthotic Technical Services

The specialisms for the Health T Level are:

  • Dental Nursing
  • Supporting Healthcare

The specialisms for the Science T Level are:

  • Laboratory Sciences
  • Technical: Food Sciences
  • Animal Sciences
  • Technical: Metrology Sciences

When will these Health and Science T Levels be available for delivery?

From September 2021 all Health and Science T Levels will be rolled out for delivery for Wave 1 and Wave 2 providers. See a list of approved Wave 1 and 2 T Level providers.

By 2022 the Health and Science T Level will be available for delivery by all providers that want to and meet the criteria. By 2024 it is expected that the vast majority of providers will be delivering this T Level.