NCFE is delighted to be at the forefront of technical education, selected as the delivery partner for the Digital Support Services T Level and Digital Business Services T Level which will be rolled out from September 2021. The contract was awarded to us by the Institute for Apprenticeships and Technical Education (IfATE) in September 2019.

What is a T Level?

T Levels represent a significant change in technical education as they will become one of the main choices for post-16 learners. They will be the high-quality technical equivalent to A Levels, combining classroom theory, practical learning and a significant industry placement and will be awarded UCAS tariff points in line with 3 A Levels.

Digital T Levels

NCFE has been awarded the contract to develop the technical qualifications for the following 2 T Levels:

  • Digital Support Services
  • Digital Business Services.

These Level 3 technical qualifications will provide learners with the knowledge, skills and behaviours needed to progress into skilled employment or higher level technical training or study in the digital sector. The core knowledge and understanding will be assessed through an examination and core skills through a practical employer-set project. In addition to this, maths, English and general digital skills will be integrated within the qualification in occupationally relevant contexts.

What are the occupational specialisms available?

The specialisms for the Digital Support Services T Level are:

  • Digital Infrastructure
  • Network cabling
  • Unified Communications
  • Digital Support

The specialism in the Digital Business Services T Level is:

Data Technician

When will these Digital T Levels be available for delivery?

From September 2021, the Digital Support Services T Level and Digital Business Services T Level will be rolled out for delivery by Wave 1 and Wave 2 providers. See a list of approved Wave 1 and 2 T Level providers.

By 2022, the Digital T Level will be available for delivery by all providers that want to and meet the criteria. By 2024 it is expected that the vast majority of providers will be delivering this T Level.