We now offer Functional Skills qualifications in English, Mathematics and ICT at Levels 1 and 2 through a partnership with SQA. We are working with SQA to provide learners a seamless journey through Functional Skills as part of our Apprenticeship packages.

Further information on the partnership is available in our Functional Skills handbook

Functional Skills qualifications equip learners with the basic practical skills required in everyday life, education and the workplace. On 1st October, 2012, Functional Skills replaced Key Skills as a mandatory component of all Apprenticeship frameworks.

Key Skills ceased being open for registrations on 30th September, 2012 and from this date are no longer accepted in Apprenticeship Frameworks. Learners who registered on Key Skills prior to this date will be able to claim certification until 30th September, 2013; as long as Key Skills are certificated prior to this date they will be accepted when claiming a full Apprenticeship certificate, even if the Apprenticeship finishes after this date.

Equivalent GCSE's, A Levels and AS Levels in English, Mathematics and ICT have also been identified as acceptable alternatives to Key and Functional Skills; these are listed in the Transferrable Skills section of the relevant Apprenticeship Framework document. Only qualifications listed in the Transferrable Skills section of the framework document will be accepted as evidence that the Transferrable Skill has been achieved, so if you have registered a learner on a SASE-compliant Apprenticeship since 6th April, 2011 please ensure that you check the relevant Apprenticeship Framework document at:


Here you can access useful resources and support materials for the delivery of Functional Skills.

Full details of all CACHE Apprenticeships can be found here.

You can view the relevant Ofqual standards and access SQA sample assessments here:

Criteria for Functional Skills

Criteria for Mathematics
Sample Assessment - Mathematics Level 1
Sample Assessment - Mathematics Level 2

Criteria for ICT

Criteria for English
Sample Assessment - English Level 1 Reading
Sample Assessment - English Level 1 Writing
Sample Assessment - English Level 2 Reading
Sample Assessment - English Level 2 Writing